Latest News

IAS cyclists featured strongly within the ICC squad during the Shimano Sydney Cup on Wheels

IAS Cyclists Prominent at NSW Track Carnival

Published on 11th of Dec, 2018

Ryan Britten, Tane Matthews-O'Brien, Amelia Trkulja, Sarah Cliff, Curtis Trkulja, Bronte Stewart and Gabriel Jacobson represented Illawarra Cycling Club on the track. Emily Strumfin supported even though she had a broken arm.

Illawarra youth did well snatching a few of the big prizes. 

On Sunday morning we had the Team Sprint championships, With Amelia, Sarah and Bronte keen to ride, we were on the understanding from the clerk of course that we could get all three on the track by putting two in to qualify and substitute Sarah Cliff into the final. Amelia and Bronte smashed out the qualifier to lock in a time to ride off for a gold or silver! However we later found that NSW rules differ to National rules, so there was no substituting allowed. Regardless our girls went out and did the job again to claim a second team silver for Illawarra Cycle Club.

We also had our gun JM17 rider (Ryan) in a non-championship team pursuit and they smashed out a great time.

Gabriel Jacobson took a mighty second place in the Scratch race and a third in the Tempo. Great racing from the U11’s. Unfortunately Gabriel was not feeling well, hopefully feeling 100% now.

Sarah Cliff took out some of the early races - Scratch and Points, and Ryan Britten raced very well all day in a very strong group of U17 men.

On the weekend a state championship event was included in the program, the U17 Tempo race.  Amelia took a NSW cycling Bronze medal in this event, the U17W.

A highlight of the carnival are the wheel-races. (A handicap event where the riders start from an individual handicap position around the track, on a gun start). In the U17W event we had some great results. Curtis Trkulja - Gold, Amelia Trkulja – Bronze,  Tane Matthews O’Brien – Bronze, Tahlia Dole – Silver.

Other noteable results: Luke Britten; 2nd Tempo, 2nd Keirin.  Tahlia Dole; 2nd Tempo, 2nd Scratch, 1st B grade Keirin. Sarah Cliff; 1st Scratch, 1st Elimination. 

There was also some great riding and results from past IAS graduates.

For full results check