Board of Directors

The Illawarra Academy of Sport (Academy) is an independent, incorporated sporting organisation governed by a (maximum) nine member Board of Directors. The Board is elected from the Academy's members, which comprised of eight Foundation Members, Seven Community Members, and an Alumni Member. 


Academy Membership

Foundation Members

  • Mayor of Kiama, Cr Mark Honey, represented by Ms. Clare Rogers
  • Mayor of Shellharbour City, Cr Marianne Saliba, represented by Mr. Brian Weir
  • Lord Mayor of Wollongong City, Cr Gordon Bradbery OAM, represented by Ms. Jenny Towers 
  • Mayor of Shoalhaven, Cr Amanda Findley, represented by Cr. John Wells
  • Mayor of Wingecarribee, Cr Ken Halstead, represented by Cr. Garry Turland
  • University of Wollongong, Vice Chancellor Prof. Paul Wellings CBE, represented by Mr. Canio Fierravanti
  • Australian Institute of Sport, Director Matthew Favier represented by Mr. Peter Bowman
  • Sports Medicine Federation South Coast Branch Represented by Mr. Phil Parle (retired June 2017)

Community Members

  • Kiama Community - Ms. Megan Hutchison
  • Shellharbour Community - Mr. Gary Lord
  • Shoalhaven Community - Mr. David Goodman
  • Wollongong Community - Mr. Scott Parr
  • Wollongong Community - Ms. Amy Duggan
  • Wollongong Community - Mr. Grant Hughes
  • Wingecarribee Community (casual vacancy)


Academy Board

  • President - Cr. John Wells
  • Vice-President - Ms. Amy Duggan
  • Director - Mr. Peter Bowman
  • Director - Mr. Canio Fierravanti
  • Director - Mr. David Goodman
  • Director - Ms. Megan Hutchison
  • Director - Ms. Jenny Towers
  • Director - Cr. Garry Turland
  • Director - Mr. Brian Weir